Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach

Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach's works for violin and harpsichord obbligato pervade his entire compositional oeuvre. The earliest works, like the Sonata in D minor still numbered BWV 1036, date back to the years of study with his father, yet show already a remarkable creative will of his own. The latest work, the Fantasia 'C. P. E. Bachs Empfindungen' in F sharp minor of 1787 is characterised by the composer's highly expressive late style.

The new two-volume edition of Wiener Urtext Edition contains C. P. E. Bach's complete works for keyboard instrument (harpsichord/piano) obbligato and violin.

Works for Violin and Harpsichord obbligato

Vol. 1

Works for Violin and Harpsichord obbligato

Vol. 2

Further works by Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach in Wiener Urtext editions


A Pre-Classical Masterpiece for Flute solo

  • Urtext on the basis of all available sources (including a manuscript copy of the Kopenhagen Giedde collection)
  • Preface informing about the work's history and transmission
  • Notes on Interpretation based on the famous 'Essays' by C. P. E. Bach and J. J. Quantz
  • Winner 2014 „Newly Published Music Competition“ – National Flute Association (U.S.A.)

Sonatas for Organ

Even today the organ sonatas by C. P. E. Bach are often played due to their musical qualities. The new edition of the organ sonatas is based on the complete transmission of their sources.

Minor Works for Organ

Under the title of ‘Minor Works’, the second volume of organ works by C. Ph. E. Bach in the Wiener Urtext Edition contains all pieces written by the composer except for the multi-movement sonatas for organ.


Together with the organ sonatas published in Vol. 1, this is probably the most comprehensive collection of works by Bach's second eldest son which can be performed on the organ.

Vol. 1 and Vol. 2 are also available as a package: